Cool Sounds Announce New album 'Cactus Country', Release Title Track

Melbourne Indie Pop Mainstays Cool Sounds announce their second full length album ‘Cactus Country’, out October 26th physically via Osborne Again and digitally through Hotel Motel (Inertia).


The first taste is the title track, which teases a new sonic direction from the bands 2016 debut LP ‘Dance Moves’. Where Dance Moves was a clean 80’s inspired affair, Cactus Country alludes to some country influence along with the production stylings of 70’s soft rock (Think ‘Something / Anything’ era Todd Rudgren).

The single sees songwriter and singer, Dainis Lacey, layer textured instrumentation over the rock steady repetitious rhythm provided by drummer Steve Foulkes and bassist Nick Kearton. A combination of acoustic & electric guitar, 70’s synth lines, atmospheric saxophone, field recordings and electronic percussion lay a strange substratum for a melodramatic tale of reflection on a toxic relationship / situation.

“I get a vision / My body’s bursting at the seams / I get the feeling / My fear and loathing, is the seed”  

As with previous releases, Dance Moves and the recent EP of album trimming ‘Gristle’, The single and album are mixed and mastered by the bands own Liam ‘Snowy’ Halliwell and was recorded at Smooch Studio in Brunswick, with overdubs completed at Lacey’s Northcote home.

Nicholas Kearton